Print  |  Favourites

FMM Negeri Sembilan Branch

Seremban to get city status by end of this year

SEREMBAN: Seremban will become the country’s 12th city before the end of this year.
Housing and Local Government Minister Datuk Seri Chor Chee Heung said the Cabinet had agreed to this at its last meeting and the only processes left were to seek the consent of the Yang di-Pertuan Agong Tuanku Abdul Halim Mu’adzam Shah and state Ruler Tuanku Muhriz before the declaration could be made.

“The state government’s application to amalgamate the Seremban and Nilai municipal councils has been approved,” he said.

The other cities are Kuala Lumpur, Ipoh, Kuching, Johor Baru, Kota Kinabalu, Shah Alam, Malacca, Alor Star, Miri, Petaling Jaya and Kuala Terengganu.

Chor said to qualify for city status, the local government should have a revenue of more than RM100mil and a population exceeding 500,000.

The population in Seremban and Nilai had increased significantly after the opening of the KL International Airport, new industries, residential developments and institutions of higher learning in Nilai, Bandar Enstek and more recently Bandar Sri Sendayan.

Back to Top

Advertising Opportunities in FMM's Directories:
Copyright © 2023 Federation of Malaysian Manufacturers Co. Registration No. 196801000309 (7907-X) 
Wisma FMM, No 3 Persiaran Dagang, PJU 9, Bandar Sri Damansara, 52200 Kuala Lumpur. 
Read FMM Personal Data Protection Act Policy